top of page

Breaking the Stereotypes of "Yogi's"


Think Yoga isn’t for? Here’s why you should think again….

There are many preconceived notions about people who make yoga a part of their lives. My father calls them hippie weirdo’s that stretch. When I asked a friend what he thought of when he pictured my yoga class, he stated “a bunch of skinny girls sitting crossed-legged on the floor humming.” Clearly, he’s lived a sheltered life. The other labels I’ve heard tied to yoga and yogi’s are boring, painful, weird, stoners, too easy, vegans, fruitcakes (my favorite) and perversion, YES, perversion. I’m here to set the record straight.

Yoga is not a one dimensional workout. There are so many different types of practices, variations and styles of teaching that boring is not an option. From fast-paced fat burning flow yoga to slower flexibility centered routines there truly is a yoga option for everyone. Some of the more interesting classes I’ve taught have been aqua yoga and char yoga. I have never been to a yoga function where humming took place ever. As for being hippies and stoners, I can honestly say I only know one yogi who openly smokes cannabis, and she’s awesome. I don’t know where the vegan rumor came from, I myself enjoy a good cheeseburger and beer is my beverage of choice. There are no perverted acts in yoga, although a pervert or two somewhere attends yoga classes for questionable reasons. As for being fruitcakes, I have no idea what that means, but it makes me sincerely smile.

The first time I did yoga I despised it. I mean absolutely hated it. I had just recently moved to Fort Bragg, newly married with my husband in Iraq, I spent all my time with a fellow Army Wife and friend, Margaret. Margaret was a ballerina and fitness fanatic. She somehow convinced me to do a yoga DVD with her in her living room. This was the longest hour of my life. With my forehead smashed against the floor and my tailbone pushed in an unladylike fashion into the air, all I could think about was slapping Margaret, or at least cursing her out. “Just breathe” the jackass on TV urged “and let go...” When the hour was over and my limbs were untangled, I noticed something unexpected. I felt good. No, not just good, I felt great. My mood was elevated, my shoulders relaxed, my aching back had been relieved and my thoughts were calm and clear. For the first time in months I slept like a baby and woke up rested. The next day I borrowed the DVD, that was over 12 years ago.

So, still think Yoga isn't for you?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

ESSENTIAL

For

LIFE

LOVE.

LIVE.

LAUGH.

it's

bottom of page